Laruelle E-Seminar *Updated*

Update April 10th I have received a good deal of interest. And have sent a syllabus to those who have already contacted me. We will start on May 24th, but the video of the first lecture will simply be online for you to watch when you have time. If you are interested please get in touch. I’m asking that those who can pay now do so by sending the fee via PayPal to anthonypaul(dot)smith(at)gmail(dot)com, but if you would like to talk about paying later or paying in segments we should be able to work that out. Just get in touch.

I have played around with the idea of doing an online introduction to François Laruelle’s non-philosophy. The idea would be to bring together the people interested in such a thing via the internet. I would do a live lecture that would also be record for those who can’t tune in at the proscribed time and this would be followed by question and answer through a blog devoted to the seminar. I would provide PDFs of selections of texts currently being translated and we could work out the mechanics of the other other texts on a case by case basis. I’m thinking that this would span 10-weeks starting either in May or June. The purpose of this post is to get a feel for how many people would be interested. I’m thinking that, for all the work that would go into this, it is fair to charge $50 or £25 for the whole seminar. Please leave a comment here or email me at anthonypaul(dot)smith(at)gmail(dot)com and let me know if this is something that would interest you.

*Update* I would need 16 participants willing to commit to make this worth it, for them, as well for me. So please indicate if you’re willing to commit or not as well.

6 thoughts on “Laruelle E-Seminar *Updated*

  1. Hi there. I’m interested in this project. But i don’t think an online live seminar will work for me due to busy schedule. I’m a Filipino teaching philosophy in undergrad philosophy program at the same time supervising a research institute at a state university here. Besides my academic work I’m currently connected to the Philosophical Association of the Philippines as its secretary-general.

    I’ve been working on Laruelle for quite a time as I’m preparing for a dissertation proposal. Needless to say, this project of yours will be a great help.

  2. I am new to Francis Laruelle and feel this would be out of my league but I am willing to commit. Sign me up.

  3. Very interested in the e-Seminar – I will also suggest this to our group, the Philosophers Salon – we’ve been holding seminars on his work (up until mid April), so this would be ideal. Please email me on director@mediaartsresearch.com as I’m not a regular fb user so might miss any remarks left there. Many thanks Johnny G

Leave a Reply

